Poirer, Brachmann & Willard sizzle
in Seaway Mall Night at Merrittville 

Jim Irvine Merrittville Speedway Public Relations 905-892-8266 … jimirvine@cogeco.net or www.twitter.com/merrittville


If the racing in Merrittville Speedway’s Seaway Mall Spring Sizzler April 27th was any indication of whats to come in the Thorold DIRTcar facility’s 62nd season – Race Fans are in for quite a season in 2013. Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series action saw Steve Poirer top the touring Patriot Sprint Tour’s Canadian Series Opener.

Chad Brachmann stole the Bobcat of Hamilton 358 Modified 35 lap Main Event with a last second move and BJ Willard bested the field in the Rick’s Delivery Sportsman Division. Steve Poirer has been arguably the hottest sprint car driver in the northeast over the last seven months, so when he drew the pole for the feature Saturday Night at Merrittville many would assume he would easily claim the win; while he would indeed win, it was far from a runaway.

Poirer, of St. Mathieu de Boleil, QC, claimed the Patriot Sprint Tour season opener for the second-straight year, his ninth career win under PST sanctioning. Poirer led all 25 laps of the A-Main at the line but on three separate occasions, there was a different leader at other points on the track, “We are on a super good roll,” declared Poirer in Victory Lane. “When you have luck on your side you are happy and you just continue racing.” For the complete report by PST Media Director Rich Vleck click on http://patriotsprinttour.com/newsItem.php?tag=1&year=2013&item=141

Chad Brachmann, of Sanborn NY may have had luck on his side as well as a move on the final straightaway saw him edge Pete Bicknell by a mere 4/1000th of a second at the finish line in the Bobcat of Hamilton 358 Modified Feature. “We finally got back to Victory Lane here,” exclaimed the former Sportsman Champion, “it’s been a long time … and it feels good!” Brachmann literally led just 6 inches – taking the win from Bicknell who became the new leader after a lap 33 caution.

Prior to the final yellow it was Chris Steele who ended up not so lucky. Steele, of Fenwick had taken control of top spot just before a lap 4 caution from third generation driver Erick Rudolph of Ransomville, NY and appeared to be focused on his first feature win of the new season in the Pete Cosco-owned 17c. Steele slowed suddenly while the field was under caution for the lap 33 incident that was originally for Billy Bleich, Jr after the rear end cover and gears fell out – leaving him virtually powerless. Rudolph had taken top spot away from initial leader Brandon Easey. Brachmann and Bicknell were followed by Rudolph, Mat Williamson and Larry Lampman, Jr.

BJ Willard took control of the 25 lap Rick’s Delivery Sportsman Feature on a restart at about the half-way point after his cousin and defending Champion Cody McPherson slowed with a 1flat tire. Willard set the pace until a final caution on lap 22 set up a three lap dash to the checkered flag. Willard, the fourth generation driver ran away to a ¼ lap lead at the finish with Darrell Farraway and Greg Panunte both making late race charges to get by early leader Gary Lindberg who settled for fourth spot. Jim Johnstone rounded out the top 5. “It’s nice to start the season off on the right foot,” said BJ Willard in Victory Lane, “it’s a confidence builder … hopefully it will give us some momentum going into the new season. I can’t thank my sponsors enough – I wouldn’t be here without my sponsors … CAA Niagara … Brian Staff … CAA Battery Service ,,, ERD and Genesis Shocks and to my dad for all he does!”

Lindberg took control of top spot from initial leader Joey Mastroianni who outraced visiting driver Jessica Power to new Starter Steve DeVos’ first green flag of 2013. The start of the event saw second generation driver Jason Moore wrestle top spot from Mastroianni before Lindberg – another second generation driver.

PATRIOT SPRINT TOUR FEATURE (25 laps) Steve Poirer, Justin Barger, Jason Barney, Mitch Brown, Tommy Wickham.

BOBCAT OF HAMILTON DIRTcar 358 MODIFIED FEATURE (35 laps) Chad Brachmann, Pete Bicknell, Erick Rudolph, Mat Williamson, Larry Lampman, Mark D’Ilario, Todd Gordon, Danny O’Brien, Scott Wood, Rob Krull, Tyler McPherson, Shayne Pierce, Ryan Arbuthnot, Bill Bleich, Tommy Flannigan, Bruno LePage, Daniel Nadeau, Fred Carleton, Mike Bowman, Chris Steele, Bill Bleich, Jr., Brandon Easey, Ken Winnfield, Chad Chevalier.

RICK’S DELIVERY DIRTcar SPORTSMAN FEATURE – (25 laps) BJ Willard, Darrell Farraway, Greg Panunte, Gary Lindberg, Jim Johnstone, George Bosse, Brad Rouse, Boyd MacTavish, Justin Sharp, Rob Knapp, Joey Mastroianni, Austin Wood, Cody McPherson, Jason Moore, Jason Farraway, Paul Gaboury, Travis Miller, Dany Gagne, Robert Baker, Rene Montminy, Paul Williamson, Jessica Power, Ron MacAualy, Shawn Sliter.

UPCOMING AT MERRITTVILLE SPEEDWAY B&C Truck Centre and Blast Entertainment will present the 2013 Championship Chase Kick Off Saturday May 4th. The Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series Event will feature the Bobcat of Hamilton 358 Modifieds and Rick’s Delivery Sportsman Divisions with the Hoosier Stocks, J&S Heating and Air Conditioning Modified Lites and Turn 4 Collision 4 Cylinders rounding out the 5 Division Event. Grandstands will open at 5:30 with Show Time at 7:00 PM. For further information - call the Speedway Office at 905-892-8266 or visit www.merrittvillespeedway.com.For directions to Merrittville Speedway click on www.merrittvillespeedway.com/track_map For all the news on Merrittville Speedway’s 62nd Consecutive Season in 2013 – visit www.merrittvillespeedway.com. Race fans and Race teams alike can follow Merrittville on Face Book (Facebook.com/Merrittville Speedway) and Twitter (Twitter.com/Merrittville)

Join us next season on a Saturday Night for a LUCAS OIL WEEKLY RACING SERIES EVENT featuring FIVE Divisions with local heroes and up and coming new stars. Make your plans … call your friends and maybe even get a carpool together and enjoy a staycation at the speedway with plenty of free parking and camping spots – a night at the races is so much fun and so close to home!   Your Local Dirt Track is where it’s at and the countdown to Saturday April 27th’s Spring Sizzler has begun at Merrittville Speedway - the Best Family Entertainment in Niagara!

MERRITTVILLE SPEEDWAY SPONSORS The 2013 62nd  Anniversary Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series for Merrittville Speedway’s 5 Divisions is brought to race fans and racers by division sponsors – Bobcat of Hamilton, Rick’s Delivery, J&S Heating and Air Conditioning, Hoosier Tire Canada and Turn 4 Collision in addition to many marketing partners Visit them at . http://www.merrittvillespeedway.com/sponsors.htm and visit them when you require their products and/or services.   Lucas Oil Products is one the fastest growing additive lines in the consumer automotive industry featuring a premium line of oils, greases and problem solving additives. Through innovative product research and development along with aggressive marketing programs, Lucas Oil Products has established itself as the top selling additive in the industry.   Look for Lucas Oil Products at your favorite automotive retailer or maintenance centre including B&C Truck Centre, Drummond Home Hardware, KC Auto Parts, RCM Racing Equipment and Tim Phillips Garage

Petes BRP Logo

Merrittville Logo
Click logo to go to home page