Sheppard leads Big Block Super DIRTcar Series to Bob St. Amand Sr. Memorial   

Matt Sheppard of Waterloo New York became the 6th different Big Block Modified Super DIRTcar Series Winner last night July 23rd at Autodromme Granby while Dale Planck opened the Quebec swing with a win the night before at Autodromme Drummond.  

That means that means that Merrittville Speedway’s biggest event of the year is less two weeks away as L. St. Amand Enterprises and St. Amand Auto & Truck Repair presents the 100 lap Bob St. Amand Senior Memorial Monday August 5th – the next stop on the Series.  

In the points standings going into the doubleheader, Sheppard led Brett Hearn by 12 points with Jimmy Phelps, Gary Tomkins and Billy Dunn as the Top 5.   So – will there be a 7th Series Winner in 2013 after the 100 lap grind at Merrittville?   Will one of the Big Block Super DIRTcar Stars names be added to the record books or will a hometown hero Bobcat of Hamilton 358 Modified Driver break through as they have many times since the first series event took to the track back in 1972?   The question will be answered in just  12 days – can you wait till then?  

Joining Sheppard and Planck in Victory Lane in Points Events are Brett Hearn, Carey Terrance, Rich Laubach and Stewart Friesen while Danny Johnson opened the UNOH DIRTcar Nationals by Summit Racing Equipment at the Volusia Speedway Park in February. Friesen, Laubach and Hearn also won in the non-point events in Florida.   “It’s really anyone’s race,” relates (Merrittville GM) Erica Bicknell-Jones, “Domination however may be an understatement with what our own Mike Bowman was able to accomplish in last year’s edition – leading all 100 laps.”   Bowman’s convincing victory was the first since 1992’s edition won by a Merrittville regular with a 358 when Ron Smoker out-raced Brett Hearn’s Big Block to win – leading only ¼ of a lap in the process.  

Bowman tends to flourish in extra distance events and in the recent Lucas Oil Slick Mist 50 as part of the Thorold facility’s 62nd Anniversary Reunion Night, the St. Catharines driver won the event that was started by the first local to win Lloyd Holt.   Prior to 2012’s race, Sheppard had won it three straight years from 2009 to 2011.

For the complete story on Autodromme Granby and Drummond events click on and to relive the 3rd Annual Bob St. Amand Senior Memorial 100 last season click on

It’s been a tradition at Merrittville Speedway since 1972 – make it yours in 2013.   From the first event in 1972 through to this year’s edition – a who’s who of DIRTcar Modified Racing converge annually on the Canadian showplace to take on Merrittville’s own talented field in the Civic Holiday Classic.  

Almost gaining as much in tradition as the race itself is the pre-race Pasta Dinner served up by Merrittville’s Annual Banquet Hosts – Club Castropignano. For race fans and race teams alike – it’s the best deal in DIRTcar Dining.   Feast on fresh pasta and meatballs, garden salad, dinner roll and a can of Pepsi for $10 in advance.   Get your tickets at the track … via e mail – or from the Speedway Office at 905-892-8266. Pasta Tickets after August 3rd are $12.  

Merrittville Speedway’s Bob St. Amand Senior Memorial 100 lap Big Block Modified Super DIRTcar Series Event Monday August 5th – it’s unparalleled … unrivalled and unsurpassed and it’s a must see event.   The heart-pounding, high-powered, pedal-mashing entertainment includes a 25 lap Event for the full fendered fans as the Hoosier Stocks compete in another Home Track Duel on the Dirt Series against the Brighton Speedway Pro Stocks.

A Non-winners race for the Rick’s Delivery Sportsman Division was recently added to the night that will conclude with the final Enduro Qualifier accelerated by Niagara College   The Great Clips Grandstand Ticket Office Gates open Monday August 5th and the Club Castropignano Pasta Dinner begins at 4 PM and runs until 6.   Merrittville Speedway is located at 2371 Merrittville Highway in Thorold.

For directions click on or call 905-892-8266 or via e mail – ebicknell@cogeco,net. For all the news on Merrittville Speedway’s 62nd Consecutive Season in 2013 – visit Race fans and Race teams alike can follow Merrittville on Face Book ( Speedway) and Twitter (

Join us next season on a Saturday Night for a LUCAS OIL WEEKLY RACING SERIES EVENT featuring FIVE Divisions with local heroes and up and coming new stars. Make your plans … call your friends and maybe even get a carpool together and enjoy a staycation at the speedway with plenty of free parking and camping spots – a night at the races is so much fun and so close to home!   Your Local Dirt Track is where it’s at and the countdown to Saturday April 27th’s Spring Sizzler has begun at Merrittville Speedway - the Best Family Entertainment in Niagara!

MERRITTVILLE SPEEDWAY SPONSORS MERRITTVILLE SPEEDWAY SPONSORS The 2013 62nd  Anniversary Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series for Merrittville Speedway’s 5 Divisions is brought to race fans and racers by division sponsors – Bobcat of Hamilton, Rick’s Delivery, J&S Heating and Air Conditioning, Hoosier Tire Canada and Turn 4 Collision in addition to many marketing partners Visit them at . and visit them when you require their products and/or services.   Lucas Oil Products is one the fastest growing additive lines in the consumer automotive industry featuring a premium line of oils, greases and problem solving additives. Through innovative product research and development along with aggressive marketing programs, Lucas Oil Products has established itself as the top selling additive in the industry.   Look for Lucas Oil Products at your favorite automotive retailer or maintenance centre including B&C Truck Centre, Drummond Home Hardware, KC Auto Parts, RCM Racing Equipment and Tim Phillips Garage

Petes BRP Logo

Merrittville Logo
Click logo to go to home page