Poirer wins Lucas Oil Empire
Super Sprint A Main in Cotton Inc.
Canada Day Celebration – Hogue, Easey and Schuts also win   


St. Mathieu de Beleoil Quebec’s Steve Poirer won the annual visit of the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints June 28th in front of a standing room only crowd. In the Cotton Inc. Canada Day Celebration, Billy Hogue of Dain City and Brandon Easey of St. Catharines each won their first Features of the season in the Hoosier Stock and Bobcat of Hamilton 358 Modified Divisions respectively. Alex Schuts closed out the Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series action taking home the 2nd Ballhockey.com Enduro Qualifier accelerated by Niagara College.

The 25 lap Le Groupe Ultra Tour of Canada Lucas Oil ESS Sprint Feature started out like it was going to be a repeat of last year's Gary Cunningham Memorial as Paul Kinney, from Canastota, NY, starting from the pole, courtesy of the Doc Magilligan’s Restaurnat & Irish Pub Redraw, bolted out to a big lead at the outset. A lap six caution erased that lead, but Kinney, looking stout, re-established his lead, while Poirier, using the outside crept into second by lap 8 and began reeling in Kinney.   When Kinney entered lap traffic on lap 15, Poirier pounced, slipping past Kinney, who was stymied by a slower car on the bottom and taking the lead. Poirier immediately distanced himself from Kinney and the rest of the field, but the issue wasn't settled yet. A spin by Glenn Styres on lap 22, set up a three lap dash for the win.   Kinney got a great run going into three and executed a dazzling slide job in turn four to overtake Poirier, but he couldn't maintain the momentum. Poirier deftly dove low to reclaim the top spot, which he held, to record the win. Kinney settled for second, followed by Matt Tanner, Jason Barney, who started fourteenth, and Chuck Hebing, who clawed up from fifteenth, to complete the top five.   For the complete statistical report click on http://www.empiresupersprints.com/2014Tour/Results/Merrittville062814.html  

“That was a good car I had. Wow. We rented the track on Wednesday and it was burnt, but I learned so much. Just all that practice on that slick race track. You've got a tight car, as much as you can, with nothing to get a hold of it. Man, the car was good tonight. It was very rewarding to get my own car back. I put a lot of time and effort into it and my dad spends countless hours, and I don't know how much money he spends, but it's all worth it. You've just got to be patient and not get out of control.”   Easey grabbed the lead from Travis Miller on the fifth lap after starting fourth and proceeded to drive away from the tough Modified field. So dominant was he that he had opened a full straightaway lead by lap 10, leaving the rest of the field to battle for position.   With no cautions after a first lap incident, Chad Brachmann, who went off tenth, made a nice run to finish in the runner-up spot, followed by Todd Gordon, who started seventh, Mat Williamson, who soldiered up from twelfth, and Mike Bowman, to round out the top five.   Bobcat of Hamilton 358 Modified Heat Winners were Miller, Easey and Scott Wood.

Billy Hogue took control of the 20 lap Hoosier Stock Feature at the drop of the green flag with the first caution slowing the field after debris was noticed at the start finish line. The debris was a portable phone that had fallen from one of the cars. A second caution would slow Hogue and the field on lap 12 after Chris Crawford and Rob Murray came together. With the win in the third Duel on the Dirt Home Track Event of 2014, Hogue becomes the first metric car to win – ending the run of the Camaros who have won since the start of the season. Hogue was followed by Jim Lampman, Kevin Knapp, Jason Fontaine in the borrowed Vince Fargnoli #90 and Mark Fawcett. Hoosier Stock Heat Winners were Hogue and Knapp.

The final event saw the second Ballhockey.com Enduro Qualifier accelerated by Niagara College which turned into quite a race between Peter Becker and Alex Schuts. Schuts. the winner of the 100 lap Enduro that closed the 2013 Season was the initial leader of the 33 car starting field until Becker took control on lap 9. Schuts regained top spot on lap 15. Through to the finish, the two front-runners weaved through slower cars with Schuts and Becker followed by James Mercer, Ben Hage and Billy Smith.

Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints A Main (25 laps) Steve Poirer, Paul Kinney, Matt Tanner, Jason Barney, Chuck Hebing, Mitchell Brown, Jim Huppunen, Jeff Cook, Shawn Sliter, Brad Malloy, Todd Hoddick, Chris Steele, Chris Jones, Kevin Ward Jr., Scott Kreutter, Mike Stelter, Glenn Styres, Tim Axton, Stan Zanchin, Keith Dempster, Havard Daniels, Dave Axton, Cory Turner, Jamie Turner.

Bobcat of Hamilton 358 Modified Feature (35 laps) Brandon Easey, Chad Brachmann, Todd Gordon, Mat Williamson, Mike Bowman, Travis Miller, Pete Bicknell, Fred Carleton, Chris Steele, Tyler McPherson, Tim Jones, Scott Wood, Chad Chevalier, Travis Cunningham, Robbie Krull, Shayne Pierce, Rick Hoctor, David Flannigan, Tommy Flannigan, Ryan Susice, Bill Bleich .  

Hoosier Stock Feature (20 laps) Billy Hogue, Jim Lampman, Kevin Knapp, Jason Fontaine, Mark Fawcett, Chris Crawford, Billy Bleich, Rob Murray, Kyle Pelrine, Chuck Hess, Brad Sheehan, Pete Reid.

UPCOMING AT MERRITTVILLE SPEEDWAY Modern Corporation presents a 5 Division Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series program Saturday July 5th in addition to their Annual Big Rig Truck Show and Shine. Grandstands open at 5:30 - Show Time is 7:00.

For all the news on Merrittville Speedway’s 63rd Consecutive Season in 2014 – visit www.merrittvillespeedway.com. Race fans and Race teams alike can follow Merrittville on Face Book (Facebook.com/Merrittville Speedway) and Twitter (Twitter.com/Merrittville). To reach Merrittville Speedway - call the Office at 905-892-8266 or via e mail – ebicknell@cogeco.net.  

Join us this season on a Saturday Night for a LUCAS OIL WEEKLY RACING SERIES EVENT featuring FIVE Divisions with local heroes and up and coming new stars. Make your plans … call your friends and enjoy a staycation at the speedway with plenty of free parking and camping spots – a night at the races is so much fun and so close to home!   Your Local Dirt Track is where it’s at!  

MERRITTVILLE SPEEDWAY SPONSORS The 2013 62nd  Anniversary Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series for Merrittville Speedway’s 5 Divisions was brought to race fans and racers by division sponsors – Bobcat of Hamilton, Rick’s Delivery, J&S Heating and Air Conditioning, Hoosier Tire Canada and Turn 4 Collision in addition to many marketing partners Visit them at . http://www.merrittvillespeedway.com/sponsors.htm and visit them when you require their products and/or services.   Lucas Oil Products is one of the fastest growing additive lines in the consumer automotive industry featuring a premium line of oils, greases and problem-solving additives. Through innovative product research and development, along with aggressive marketing programs, Lucas Oil Products has established itself as the top selling additive in the industry.   Race fans can look for Lucas Oil Products at their favorite automotive retailer or maintenance center including Drummond Home Hardware. KC Auto Parts, RCM Racing Equipment and Tim Phillips Garage.

Petes BRP Logo

Merrittville Logo
Click logo to go to home page