Reunion Committee looking for Wall of Fame Nominations from racing community

Even though it is some 5 months away – excitement is beginning to build for when the Welland and Fort Erie Timber Marts and Blast Entertainment present Nostalgia Night 2016 – Saturday July 16th.

Plans are being finalized for the 65 lap Jerry Winger Memorial for the Pinty’s Delicious Foods 358 Modifieds that will be split into three segments of 20, 20 and 25 laps each. If one driver can win all three … the Trifecta will pay a $2500 bonus courtesy of Bicknell Racing Products.

But before all the on track excitement begins – the 65th Anniversary Season Inductees into the L. St. Amand Enterprises Wall of Fame will be introduced. “Right since 1952 there have been individuals that have played integral roles in the continued success of Merrittville,” said Reunion Committee Chairman Rick Kavanagh during a recent Committee Meeting, “we’ve honored quite a few personalities over the years but we are asking race fans and teams to assist us in picking who will be honored on such an important milestone as our 65th!

” Drivers, Crew Members, Race Officials, Sponsors, Media and even Fans are eligible for consideration provided that their careers include a considerable history at the Saturday Night Track. Merrittville Speedway’s Reunion Committee is made up of Kavanagh, (the son of former Speedway co-owner and Wall of Famer Ken Kavanagh), former racers Ted Renshaw, Jeno Begolo, Terry Huffman, Bill Willard and Ken Walsh, Mark Swartz and the Speedway’s Erica Bicknell—Jones and Jim Irvine. Renshaw, Begolo and Willard are also Wall of Fame Inductees while Swartz is the son of the late Bruce Swartz, also a Wall of Fame Driver.

“We are looking for candidates to honour based on merit and meeting our prerequisites. We have a running list of names but we’d like to involve our fans,” added (Merrittville Speedway GM) Erica Bicknell-Jones, “some of our Inductees over the years may not be known by some … but with so many different eras … we don’t want to leave anyone out.”

 Individuals wishing to make a nomination should prepare a biography of the nominee and submit it by March 23rd 2016 by e mail at at the Speedway Winter Office located in Bicknell Racing Products, 117 Cushman Road in St. Catharines from 9 AM to 5 PM Monday to Friday or with one of the Committee Members.  

The Merrittville Speedway L. St. Amand Enterprises Wall of Fame includes inaugural members Jeno Begolo and Ivan Little, second year inductee Bill Willard, Sr., and other personalities including Alan Willard, Bill Dominey, Bill Rafter, Bill Willard Jr., Bob Davidson Sr., Bob Hatt, Bob MacPherson, Bob St. Amand Sr., Bobby Fisher, Brian Stevens, Bruce Swartz, Bruce VanDyke, Bryant Irvine, Cam Gagliardi, Carl Game, Chris Ricker, Dave Halliwell, Davey Moore, Don Ledingham, Doug Gordon, Ed Ortiz, Fred Hurst, Gary Saunders, George Treanor, George Treanor, Gordie Wilson, Harry Sittler, Harry Vanderzanden, Harvey Hainer Jr., Harvey Hainer Sr., Henry Shivak, Howard Disher, Hughie Tripp, Jack Gatecliffe, Jack Munn, Jerry Winger, Jimmy Binks, John Marino and George Cullen and their families, Ken Kavanagh and Bill Russell and their families, Lloyd Holt, Lyndon Wood, Mel Swart, Mike Zajac, Murray Stricker, Orville Kelley, Ray Stevens, Stan Friesen and Kurt Uhl and their families, Tammy Willard, Terry Edwards, Terry St. Amand, the Deagle Brothers – Denny, Don and Larry, Tommy Cook, Wimpy Nicholls and 2015’s Inductees Mark Elsie, Jim Begolo and Pete Cosco.

For all the news on Merrittville Speedway’s 65th Consecutive Season in 2016 – visit

Race fans and Race teams alike can follow Merrittville on Face Book ( Speedway) and Twitter (

To reach Merrittville Speedway’s Winter Office call 905-685-7223  

 MERRITTVILLE SPEEDWAY SPONSORS The 2016 65th  Anniversary Lucas Oil Weekly Racing Series for Merrittville Speedway’s 5 Divisions is brought to race fans and racers by division sponsors – Pinty’s Delicious Foods, Yager Bros Trucking, Rev’s Full Throttle Powersports, Hoosier Tire Canada and Van Raine Construction in addition to many marketing partners Visit them at . and visit them when you require their products and/or services.   Lucas Oil Products, Inc., is the world leader in the production high performance oils, fuel treatments and problem solving additives with the largest variety of shelf products of any oil company in North America. Lucas Oil’s premium formulas are marketed worldwide and retail at more than 40,000 auto parts stores across the continent and at virtually every truck stop across Canada. Race fans can look for Lucas Oil Products at their favourite automotive retailer or maintenance center including Kala’s Home Hardware, KC Auto Parts, RCM Racing Equipment and Tim Phillips Garage.


Petes BRP Logo

Merrittville Logo
Click logo to go to home page