Ken Schrader, Josh Hansen James Michael Friesen, Steve Shaw, Kevin Conley Score Victoria Day Wins at Merrittville

By Steven Petty.....THOROLD, ONTARIO (May 20, 2019)… Fenton, Missouri’s Ken Schrader picked up the win in the inaugural visit by the UMP Modifieds as Zavitz Financial Strategies and ZFS Benefit Solutions presented the Victoria Day program at the Merrittville Speedway Monday night. Josh Hansen from Welland, Ontario picked up the win in the Action Sprint Tour event. Third generation driver James Michael Friesen from St. Catharines, Ontario won the main event for the David Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman. “The Merlin Magician” Steve Shaw from Merlin, Ontario won the feature event for the Hoosier Stocks. Thorold, Ontario’s Kevin Conley picked up his second Dave’s Auto and Speed Centre V6 feature win of the season.

Ken Schrader used the outside to power to the lead on the opening lap in the main event for the UMP Modifieds with Dennis Lunger Jr running in second. With Schrader and Lunger battling for the lead, Jonah Mutton was holding off Brian Speelman and Kraig Handley for third place. Handley would move into third place after a lap 11 restart and would go after Lunger and Schrader. Schrader would hold off Lunger to score the feature win.

The sophomore season of the Action Sprint Tour kicked off with Jesse McDonald showing the way from the drop of the green flag in their 20-lap feature event. Josh Hansen raced in third with Brad Herron and Ryan Hunsinger raced inside the top five. The leaders would hit lap traffic on lap seven, just as Josh Hansen took second away from Dykstra. Hansen would take the lead away from McDonald in lap traffic on lap nine. Dave McKnight Jr flipped in turn two to bring the red flag out on lap 12. Hansen would continue to show the way off the restart. Adrian Stahle slowed in turn two to bring out the caution on lap 14. On the restart, Hansen and McDonald pulled away from Dykstra. McDonald closed to the rear tailpipe of Hansen for the lead and the top two battled for the win. Hansen would hold off McDonald to score the win. McDonald, Dykstra, Brad Herron, and Ryan Hunsinger completed the top five.

Brad Rouse and Jay Mallory were on the front row for the 25-lap feature for the David Chevrolet DIRTcar Sportsman with Rouse showing the way. As Rouse opened his lead, Mallory and Greg Panunte battled for second place. After a pair of mid-race restarts, Rouse would regain control of the field as James Friesen would battle Mallory for second and Dylan Davidson moved into fourth after passing Paul Gaboury. James Michael Friesen would catch Brad Rouse and the two would battle for the lead. Friesen would take the lead with two laps to go. Friesen would go on to score the win.

Jason Fontaine and Dave Bailey brought the Hoosier Stocks to the green flag with Fontaine taking the lead as Rob Murray and Steve Shaw battled with Bailey for second. Off an early race restart, Fontaine continued to show the way as Steve Shaw raced in second with Bailey and Murray racing inside the top four. Shaw would take the lead away from Fontaine on lap 11 and started to pull away from the field. Brad Sheehan and Fontaine battled for second late in the event as Shaw would go on to score the win.

Kevin Conley and John Couture brought the Dave’s Auto and Speed Centre V6 to the green flag for their feature event with Conley showing the way. Conley and Couture pulled away from the rest of the field to battle for the win themselves. Couture would take the lead with three laps remaining, but Conley would regain the lead to score the win. Couture would finish in second.

Billy Tripp picked up the win in the School Bus race.

Saturday night racing returns on May 25 as CAA Niagara presents the first race of the King of the Crates for the Sportsman plus Modifieds, Mod Lites, 4 Cylinders, and V6’s. Pit gates will open at 5 pm with grandstands opening at 5:30 pm and racing beginning at 7:00 pm.

Follow Merrittville Speedway on social media including Facebook (, Twitter (@Merrittville), and online at

Merrittville Logo
Click logo to go to home page